Let Me Just Say…

I’m probably the world’s biggest advocate for cussing. I’m the one walking around reminding everyone that the so-called cuss words are in fact just words. Does it make it any better if I say crap instead of shit, when I’m referring to the same thing? If shit is a cuss word, doesn’t that make crap one as well? They really are just words. They mean nothing, yet they cover everything.

That being said, I also have to say that there is a time and a place to use those words and to not. For example, when I meet someone for the first time, I will not use any type of profanity around them until I hear them do it. Then, I will only use the same words they use. I won’t drop an F bomb if they’re only saying hell and damn. And I don’t cuss around people who don’t cuss. I don’t use bad words on Facebook as some of my friends are children. I don’t use those words on Twitter because the people I interact with on there are people I’ve never met. They’re publishers, writers, and other professionals. It doesn’t leave a good impression when your tweets are sprinkled with profanity. Even though I use those words in my day to day life, that’s not the place for them.

As sad as it is, we’re judged by everything we do, say, wear, and the people with whom we associate. If you hang out with crackheads, people will think you’re a crackhead. It’s an obvious assumption. If you’re covered in tattoos or wear revealing clothing, there’s also a reasonable assumption society can make about your lifestyle. When you walk around spouting off F this and GD that uncontrollably, well it leads us as a society to assume that not only can you not control yourself, but you’re uneducated as well. If you have to fill your sentences with these sentence enhancers, then chances are you have nothing real to say. If you want to be taken seriously, you have to exercise common sense and self-control.

Again, I love to cuss when the time is right. I’m just aware that the time isn’t always right. Having said all that, I will say this. I watched Rango last night. It’s a children’s animated movie. I was surprised to find so many cuss words in it. In a normal movie, it would’ve been fine. But when the movie is animated, I thought it was painfully obvious that it was a movie made FOR children. Why the cuss words? It’s a children’s movie! What’s next – Spongebob dropping F bombs all over Bikini Bottom? Elmer Fudd asking where the hell that damn wabbit is? It’s ridiculous to use those words in a kids’ movie. Just when I thought I couldn’t be more disappointed in Hollywood, there it is. As if being forced to look at nudity and sexual innuendos in movies wasn’t enough, now they have to hear that too. Ridiculous. Or I guess if we have no rules as a society anymore, then it’s safe to say it’s fucking bullshit.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on July 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

