Funny How Things Work

I was up late last night getting my Bridezillas fix. When it was over, I flipped through the channels and came across My Strange Addiction.I don’t know if you’re familiar with this show, but I’ve seen a few episodes. It’s a half-hour show, normally split evenly between two people, each having a strange addiction. (It’s a good thing they’re on a show named My Strange Addiction)  But last night, it was so incredibly disgusting, one woman had the whole thirty minutes to herself. I have a pretty strong stomach. I study serial killers, I watch every true forensic show on tv, my back-up career is forensic pathology, and I can talk about feces and vomit while I eat. So, yeah, a strong stomach. However, I nearly vomited while watching this episode.

This lady, god bless her, is a widow. Her husband of two and half years died suddenly. She was, and is still, distraught over his death. She had him cremated and carries his box of ashes with her wherever she goes. I’m thinking this is her strange addiction. After all, the info on the satellite told me that was it. But a few minutes into the show, things get weird. Er. Weirder.

SHE EATS HIS ASHES!

Now as a writer, I’m as creative as the next joe, but this…well, this is just ridiculous on a new level. She’s already eaten over a pound of his remains, and she’s still eating him!

As I watched her dip her fingers into his ashes, swirl them around, and suck them clean, my stomach rolled. There were a couple of times when I nearly lost it. But I kept it together, and the the writer in me took over and I wrote it all down. And guess what I did the first thing this morning? Yup. I’ve already made the cover, and here in just a few minutes, I’m going to write the hell out of story about just this thing. Funny how things work, isn’t it?

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on August 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

