My Break

If you’re wondering what I’ve been doing with myself these last few weeks and thinking, “Hey. She hasn’t posted how many words a day she’s writing or anything!”, well, that’s because I’ve been a on a break. Oh, yeah. I take ’em. See, I wrote 2 novels in 2 months over the summer. Cranked them suckers out back to back. (By the way, my goal was 2. Then I got cocky and thought ‘If I can do 2, why not 3?’ So I changed my goal to 3. But many things happened over the course of the summer, leaving me with my original goal of 2. So I’m still happy with myself and feel that I attained my goal and had a productive and successful summer.)

Anyhoo, I’ve felt the need gnawing at me as it often does. No, not the need for meth or even the need for speed (though I do likes to break me some speed limits). I know I need to write. Actually, I first need to edit the 2 novels I wrote this summer. They are awesome, awesome books. One of them needs way more work than the other one, but they both need me. After that, I need to write. I’m in the middle of a short story I started just before deciding to take a break. I’d certainly like to see it finished soon. I have a ton of stories I’ve taken notes on that I need to write. And I will. Just as soon as I make it through this week.

I know my break is over. After all, it couldn’t last forever. Things rarely do. But this is one crazy week lying ahead of me. I’m one day down, about another 7 to go. Then, back to thumping on these little black keys. That is where my fingers feel most at home, after all. For some, it’s their nose. For others, their butts. But for me, my fingers belong on the keyboard. That familiar clicking sound is peaceful to me and I miss it. It’s been a few weeks since I heard the steady sound of a work of art being created from my own fingertips, which never ceases to mystify and amaze me.

So bare with me, folks. In about 7 days, I’ll get back to work. In the meantime, read something.

P.S. I’ve settled on a release date for my next novel. I was going to release them both this summer. After all, crank ’em out, send ’em out. But, I decided to only release one in the fall. So I thought, what would be a good day? Well, my birthday is in the fall. So. I will release my novel RAGE (which I love with all my heart) on…wait for it…November 24. Happy birthday to me! And happy reading to you. 🙂 I’m going to put a couple covers up soon and let you vote on which one you like best. That’ll be the official cover. And of course, I’ll tease you with lines, paragraphs, maybe even chapters between now and then. Yeah, I’m evil like that.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on September 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

