I Never Really Knew You

I wrote this poem after the death of my paternal grandmother.

I Never Really Knew You

January 26, 2004

Coexisting in the same world

Living separate lives

Both starting out as little girls

Both ending up as wives

I knew who you were

You knew me as well

People ask me things about you

Things that I can’t tell

Things I don’t know now

Things I never knew

There are just so many things

I never knew about you

I didn’t know your favorite color

Or if you liked to write

I never knew the things you hated

Or any of the things you liked

I never even knew

Whether or not you liked me

It was only after you died

That I began to see

Now I know you loved me

And I know I loved you too

But still and I guess always

I never really knew you

How great was the pain you suffered

How heavy the burden you carried

How happy were you exactly

The day that you got married

Hugs and kisses never given

Questions never asked

Conversations never held

Now too much time has passed

I always had so many questions

Always will and I still do

Now it’s only my fault

That I never really knew you

Did you cry yourself to sleep at night?

Did you laugh when you were alone?

When you were out somewhere

Could you just not wait to go home?

How like me were you really

How different could we have been?

How much closer could we have gotten

If I’d have asked these things back then

I guess I’ll never know

I’ll add it to the list

Of all the things I don’t know

Of all the things I missed

As sad as it is

All these things are true

As terrible as it is

I never really knew you

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Kim Your Poem is so well written. It is so heart touching. Your Poem is so true about many of us. May The Lord JESUS continue to Bless You and Yours. Keep up the good work. Bro.Pat Pyles.

Leave a Reply

