Down the Alleyway

1/21/04

On a sunny day with brisk air

I walked along a city street

Gazing in the windows

At merchandise so neat

When I passed by an alleyway

I thought I heard a sound

So I stopped and listened intently

And slowly looked around

City noise disguised this sound

That I wasn’t sure I heard

I was starting to feel

Maybe a little absurd

After all, I no longer heard the sound

That I had heard before

I smiled at myself and started to walk

But heard the sound once more

I stopped again, not smiling now

Feeling colder than the air

I slowly looked to the alley

And wondered what was there

Common sense said ‘walk away’

It said ‘just let it go’

But human nature and instinct said

‘You can’t leave until you know’

Down the alleyway I went

Leaving all good sense behind

My entire body tensed

At the thought of what I might find

A dumpster at the far end of the alley

Was the source of this bone-chilling sound

I stood with my hand on the dumpster

And my heart fiercely began to pound

How could a sound so beautiful

How could a sound so sweet

Be the same sound that sent chills

From my head to my feet?

I took a deep breath and swallowed hard

Before I raised the lid

And brought myself face to face

With what the dumpster hid

I raised the lid and prayed to God

Not to see what I knew I would see

But sure enough, there it was

Looking back at me

I leapt into the dumpster

And cradled this being so kind

How anyone could do this

Completely blew my mind

Thrown out like the daily trash

Was someone’s bundle of joy

Upon closer inspection

I saw it was a boy

So perfect and so beautiful

Yet left to die anyway

And he probably would have

Had I not gone down the alleyway.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Kimberly I really enjoyed “Down the Alleyway” and you have so many eBooks to choose from. Keep up the good writing!

Leave a Reply

