One Big Family

I recently read somewhere that writers are mean to each other because they’re all fighting for the same thing. In my experience, this is the farthest thing from the truth. Sure, there are a handful of arrogant writers who think they’re fecal matter is odorless, but you get a handful of those people anywhere you look. And everyone knows that you can’t let ‘one bad apple spoil the whole bunch’. Not all writers are arrogant. Don’t judge the multitude by the deeds of the few.

I know, talk to, and associate with a lot of other writers. They’re the greatest people I’ve ever met. They’re understanding. They’re empathetic with other writers, because we’ve all gone through the same thing. And they’re the most supportive people I’ve ever met. More supportive than friends and relatives because they know what our goal is, and they know how hard it is to achieve that goal. We all suffer the same pain. We share advice and tips with each other. We promote each other’s work. We lend an ear. We share experiences. We’re like a big family, really. It’s wonderful. I’m happy to be a part of such a great group of people. You’d think people that concoct such brutal, gruesome stories would be awful, but they’re not. They’re great. So whoever said writers are mean to each other was obviously not a writer.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on November 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

