“No Time,” They Cried.

If you know me at all, you know that there a great many things that get under my skin and irk my nerves. Usually, I mouth off about it and move on with my life as best I can while surrounded by nerve-irkers. On this ever-growing list of annoyances of mine, are those people – and since there are so many of them, I’m sure you know at least a few – who are always complaining about how they don’t have time to do things. “I don’t have time,” they whine and complain. Seriously? You don’t have time? You sit at home all day, do virtually nothing, and yet still manage to not have time. Meanwhile, Joe & Jane Blow each have 2 jobs and go to school, and still manage to find time to keep their shopping done, their house clean, their 3 kids fed, clothed, and off drugs, and somehow squeeze in family trips and time with friends.

I suppose the pinnacle of this peeve of mine was when I mentioned to someone (one of the people I know that are ALWAYS going on about they have no time for anything yet sit at home all day doing absolutely nothing) that I had gotten a foot bath for my birthday. And this person said, (and I quote because for crying out loud, you can’t make this stuff up) “I don’t have time for a foot bath.” Seriously?! You don’t have five or ten minutes to soak your feet in delightful bubbly water?

Don’t get me wrong. I know a lot of people are busier than a Mormon at a wife-swapping party. I get it. But what I don’t get is how people (especially those with no jobs – by choice, I might add) can sit around and be so damn ‘busy’, yet never get anything done. If you ask me, they’re just very lazy people who try to fool others into believing that they’re not lazy just busy. ‘I don’t have time’ sounds better than ‘I just don’t want to’.

Here’s what it boils down to , folks. We all get the same 24 hours each and every day. It’s up to each of us to whittle them away as we choose. If you’re sitting on your ass doing nothing for the majority of those hours, don’t whine to me about how you don’t have time to get anything done. I know people who do more in a day than I do in a week, and on the other hand, I do more in a week than most people I know do in a year. I sport a great deal of hobbies, plus manage to keep up with my housework, read, write, take pictures, go on walks, and still have time to watch TV, socialize, and spend time with my son. Do I ever wish there were more hours in a day? Of course. But I always make time for the things I want to make time for. If I want to read more, I watch less TV. If I want to soak my feet in a foot bath, I do it while watching TV. That there, students, is what we call multitasking. Like sewing while watching TV, or getting in those social phone calls while cleaning. It’s how the world really works. Prioritizing will take you far, kids.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Vicky Stewart

    I love your work, just found it yesterday, have read The Loniest Road and bought all of the books you have on Amazon. Wow, really good! You are great!

Leave a Reply

