My Review Quest

So here’s something I’ve noticed. People love to leave reviews for books they’ve read. That is, if the author is already famous. Don’t worry. It doesn’t make a bit of sense to me either. Getting people to review your books is like trying to get someone to volunteer for a root canal. It ain’t gonna happen. So here’s what I thought. I thought I’d try this cute little experiment for a while and see if it works. Settle down. I’m getting ready to tell you what it is.

If you read and review one of my books or short stories, I’ll GIVE you another one. Go ahead. Read that again. I’ll wait. Yes, if you review a short story, I’ll give you another short story. If you review a novel, I’ll give you another novel. Am I crazy? A lot of people seem to think so. Will this work? I don’t know. But it’s worth a shot.

Authors live and die by reviews and word of mouth. Sure, telling me you loved my story is great – especially for my pride and ego – but it doesn’t tell others, ‘Hey, you should read this.’

It doesn’t take much to leave a review. Just write what you would say to a friend about the book. Read some reviews on Amazon to get the feel for it if you’ve never done it.

After you leave your review, send an email to kbettes[AT]mcmo[DOT]net with a link to your review (or at least tell me where you left it), which other story you want, and in which format you would like it.

I have no idea how long I’ll run this experiment. Probably until my meds wear off, so you might want to hurry.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on February 21, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

