Inspiration

People often ask what inspires a story. That’s a difficult question to answer.

Sometimes, I’m watching television and I see or hear something that triggers a switch in my brain. To give you a visual, it could be like the light bulb over my head suddenly clicking on, but I like to think of it more as turning on the TV just in time to see the most exciting part of a movie. Explosions, shooting, all kinds of action. Because that’s how it feels to me. Immediate and intense, it’s suddenly there.

The same thing often happens in the midst of a conversation. The other person says something that flicks that switch in my head, turning on my imagination, and BOOM! I’m not listening to the conversation any more because I’m watching this story unfold in my mind, already working out kinks and adding twists and turns. Sure, I miss some of the conversation and a lot of the movie I’m watching, but the rush of a great story idea is beyond any feeling ever. I assume it’s akin to a junkie getting their fix. Since I’m not a junkie, I can’t say that with certainty, but I imagine it’s close.

And then there are times like last night, when all I wanna do is sleep but my mind won’t stop. It goes on, creating idea after idea, not stopping no matter how loud I scream for it to. And I love it. I wish that would happen during the day though instead of while I’m trying to sleep, but I’ll take it where I can get it. I’m aware that for a lot of writers, it’s a struggle just to get an idea. I’ve never had that problem (knock on wood). The ideas are just there, everywhere, waiting to be discovered, triggered by words or actions. They’re everywhere, man. Everywhere.

 

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on March 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

