Unruly

You know those unruly children that just won’t listen to you no matter what you do? They run around, screaming and yelling, arms flailing, doing whatever they want to do while you stand there, hands on hips, head to the sky asking ‘Why, Lord? Why me?’ I know you know the kind I’m talking about. After all, I’m sure you’ve been to Wal-Mart at some point and have at least seen one of these kids.

Well this story I’m working on is one of those unruly kids.

It started out as a short story. And it was coming along smashingly. In a couple hours time, I had a few thousand words and was really cranking along on it. But then I decided that it was going to end up too long to be a short story. A novella, perhaps? No. I wanted to go full-blown on this one and make it a novel. So with my mind made up about it, I set out to write the story. But that’s when the little devil downed three Mt. Dews and a handful of M&Ms and started running around on me, screaming and ignoring my pleas for mercy.

So I walked away. I left that sucker sitting there, waiting on me for a change. I went about my life, but everyday, it was in the back of my mind. It kept me up at night. I thought of all the things I could do to make this story awesomer than it already was. Maybe if I threw in other stuff, it would listen and act right for once.

And boy, did I come up with a brilliant plan for this story. It is going to be FANFREAKINTASTIC. So I sat down, jotted down all my notes, and started writing on it. And the damn thing still wouldn’t do things my way. ‘But I don’t wanna be a novel,’ it whined. ‘But I don’t wanna take place all in one night.’ Wah wah wah. So I grabbed it, I strangled it a little bit, and I tossed it to the side, because damn it, I’m the boss here. I say what we do and what we don’t do.

So, while my unruly demon spawn rests in a heap in the corner, waiting for me to come back to it, I’ve decided to go on to this other brilliant story. And you know what? This one is listening to me and doing everything it’s supposed to do, and our relationship is amazing. I’m having a good time with it.

I suppose it’s true what they say. People with two kids have one that is rotten. And this is why in real life, I just have the one kid. He’s awesome. If I had another one and it was awful and refused to listen to me, there would surely be consequences for choking it and throwing in the corner and walking away. Yup. Probably some consequences.

But rest assured, I’m really getting somewhere with this story. I’m 5,500 words in now after 2 days. That’s pretty good. I know where I’m going, and apparently it’s more than willing to come along with me (knock on wood). So I’ll keep you posted on the progress. And I’ll let you know if when I’m finished with this story the other one decides to behave and do things my way.

Until then, read something.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good to know the unruly child is a universal phenomenon and not just restricted to my Sainsbury’s across the road from my flat here in London!

  1. Pingback: The nerve of some people’s kids « Write on the World

Leave a Reply

