Honest v. Dishonest

Recently, it came to my attention that there are some unscrupulous people putting their name on other authors’ ebooks and passing them off as their own. Call me naive if you wish, but of all the scams and rip-offs that I know go on every day, I would’ve never thought about this one, probably because I would never do such a thing and I just assume (foolishly) that no one else would either. I can’t believe there are people that would do it, but there are.

*Flashback*

When I was a teenager, we moved into a house that I absolutely loved. Out back was a huge, weird metal building. Naturally, I had to check this out and see what was in it. Turns out, there was boxes and boxes of old military stuff. Uniforms, etc. Among this stuff I found a folded piece of paper. Of course I had to read. (Oh, come on. Like you wouldn’t have read it too.) It was a handwritten poem about World War II. It was good. Damn good. By this time, I had a ton of poems under my belt and had already started my first novel. I showed everyone this poem, and they all asked the obvious question: “Did you write this?” To which I quickly replied, “No.”

*Back to the present*

The point to the flashback was this – I have never and I will never take credit for something I didn’t do. I didn’t write that poem. I could’ve easily taken credit for it. The author was dead, and the poem forgotten about. But that’s not me. What kind of person would I be if I took credit for another person’s work? You know the saying…The things you do when no one’s looking are the things that define you.

So what kind of person are you? Would you have taken credit for it, knowing no one would ever know that you didn’t write it?

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great blog, Kimberly. I’m really glad you wrote this. I can say without question that I would never, ever want credit for anything that I didn’t write. It has nothing to do with being caught; it has to do with my own integrity.

    When I read about people caught plagiarizing others or taking credit for something they didn’t write, I always wonder why? How can stealing someone’s work feel good? It’s SO wrong. In every way.

  2. Thank you, Lisette. I agree with you. It is SO wrong. I don’t how they sleep at night. It would be bad enough just to take credit for it, but to steal an author’s book and make money off it…I just can’t imagine. I hope the guilt eats them alive. Thank you for being honest! 🙂

  3. Sadly, it probably happens a lot. Especially with the number of indie writers putting work out. Every once in a while we come across an unknown who deserves attention (found one today) and work can easily be snatched.

Leave a Reply

