To Blog or Not to Blog

I’m aware that as writers, we’re encouraged to write at least one or two blog posts a week. In fact, if you have an agent or publisher, it’s demanded that you do. And while I used to make it a strong habit to write a new post on Wednesday of every week, I’ve fallen off that routine and hit the ground hard. Why? Well to put it plainly, I just don’t know what to say once a week. I mean, do I like to talk? Sure I do! Do I have plenty of stuff to ramble on about? Of course! But those things just don’t seem fitting for blog posts. Writers are expected to write about writing, which is both appropriate and odd. I mean, mechanics don’t want to talk about cars on their time off, and doctors don’t want to get phone calls at home asking medical questions. But who else do you ask? So while I understand that new writers look to writer’s blogs for knowledge about the craft, it does seem a little odd to expect writers to ONLY talk about writing. And I’m a humble person who feels that I’m in no position to dole out advice about writing anyway. If I were of Stephen King’s status, sure. I’d give out advice all day long and feel just in doing so. But I’m not. At least not yet. *fingers crossed*

There are several blogs I follow. (Note: I do NOT blindly follow blogs. If I follow one, it’s because every post either teaches me something or entertains me. Usually, both.) I’ve noticed that some of them post once a day (or so it seems). To me, that’s overkill. How could you have something to say every day? As I write that, I realize that’s probably jealousy rearing its ugly head. I wish I had something to blog about every day. But alas, I do not. I do have a lot of great blog post ideas come to me, but it’s always when I’m an hour away from my laptop. By the time I return, it’s either gone or I’ve convinced myself that it’s ridiculous and no one will want to read it. Clearly, I have issues.

So if you don’t get a blog post out of me every week, don’t think I’ve forgotten you. I just don’t want to bore you, and I don’t want to write something that makes me come across as a haughty know-it-all. I’m here, banging my head against the wall, waiting for the right post to come along and find me AT MY LAPTOP. (Do you hear me, Blog Post Idea Gods? Find me at my laptop, not an hour away. Thanks!)

In the future, I think I’ll try posting about whatever comes to mind. Funny things that have happened to me, things I’ve learned about writing or life or whatever, just general things. I don’t want to be one of the blogs that you tire of because I post too much, but I also don’t want to drive you away by not posting enough. So I hope you stick around while I tightrope walk my way through the blogisphere. Feel free to slap me around a bit if I get too far off track. Because I just might.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. By far the best post I’ve read recently. You’re spot on. We’ve written a book, YAY, what right would that give us to pontificate to others about the methods of doing so ? If we choose to set an individual time which suits us to write and a target number of words, will that suit everyone ?
    In fact, dependant upon the subject of our books and the method of publishing some authors would suggest that others are not authors but hacks. It’s suggested that unless you have something serious to say about the human condition you’re not a writer at all.
    If asked for advice about writing, the best I can come up with is ‘Try’. Be careful with spelling , edit as much as possible and don’t publish until the book’s been proof read.Get someone you trust to be honest to read it before publishing to see if it’s interesting. Afraid of nepotism ? There are plenty of reviewers out there.
    After having given those sage words of advice I’m back to blogging when I’ve something to say. I try to make t at least once a week and fortunately (?) one of the blogs is on behalf of my cat so at least one of us always has something going. Like you Kimberley, I don’t want to risk overkill and put readers off.
    You’re doing just right, don’t change. Quality over quantity all the time.

  2. Hm. Maybe my cat has interesting stuff to say. She certainly seems to have plenty to say while I’m trying to sleep…I may try that. I always enjoy posts by our four-legged friends. And thank you so much for your encouragement. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

