Rights or Wrongs?

It seems all anyone talks about these days is their rights. It’s all I see and hear; ‘but we have the right!’ Well you know what you don’t have? Common sense and decency.

Sure, I have the right to tell you what I really think of you. I have the right to walk up to your child and tell him/her that Santa isn’t real because he/she is ugly. I have the right to stand outside the funeral of your loved one holding a sign that reads ‘God is glad they’re dead and so am I.’ I have the right to hate you and spread that hatred around so others can hate you too.

But I don’t do any of those things. Why? Because it isn’t right.

What people fail to realize is that having the right to do something doesn’t mean it’s the right thing to do. You have to have the common sense and the decency to keep your thoughts and opinions to yourself if what you think is going to hurt someone else. There is a time and a place for expressing yourself – it’s up to you to find them.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Unfortunately Kimberly there are those out there without a moral scruple who are quite prepared to upset someone just to satisfy their own feeling of right. I’m delighted to say I don’t know any and that we have people like you prepared to hold an example of how to behave properly for them.
    I saw something on the UK news about the family group who gather outside funerals of gay servicemen with their sick posters. I just wonder how long it will take them to become fully human.

  1. Pingback: Love or Hate « Poets for World Peace

Leave a Reply

