Year in Review

Hard to believe it’s already the end of 2012. The older I get, the faster time goes by. When I was a kid, it took forever for Christmas to come. Felt like years. Now, it’s every few months. At least it feels like it’s every few months. So I’ve been thinking about what I’ve done this year. I mean really, what have I done?

I published all of my stories with Amazon at the end of February.

I published all of my novels in paperback form (they had previously only been available in digital format).

Also, I published a collection of poems, a collection of short stories, a novella, and 2 novels.

I submitted 2 short stories to 2 different anthologies, both of which were accepted and published.

At the end of June, I had to put my beloved Himalayan cat down. It was easily one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.

I helped kick-start the writing career of a talented young woman.

I bought a new car.

I honed my knitting skills.

I lost a few family members.

I gained new friends and fans.

I laughed. I cried.

I did a lot of writing. A lot of editing. A lot of cover designing. A lot of work.

So when I feel like another year flew by and I got nothing done, I can look back at these things and realize that I did accomplish something. I was productive. And I hope to be even more productive in 2013, and I certainly hope to drag you all along with me. Kicking and screaming, if need be. But you’re coming with me, and it’s going to be a hell of a ride.

Happy holidays, everyone. Hope you’re all happy and safe. 🙂

So tell me, what did you do this year?

 

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on December 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Well, I got tired out just reading what you’d done this year. I hope you remembered to relax on occasion or wasn’t there time for that? It’s funny but I did a post recently on time flashing by as I got older and came to the conclusion someone is stealing months from me.
    It was the year in which Oscar died at 18 yrs old and his blog had to come to an end. I considered making his blog into a book as some suggested but to be honest I got it into order and edited it before I ran out of energy.
    We’ve taken my wife back and forward to the oncologist and sometimes you’d swear she’s been cured but reality sets in. Still we’re looking forward to celebrating Christmas as she’s never grown up. She loves her stocking on the bed though who’s ever sock it is had better be big or else.
    In my country the greeting is
    Nadolig Llawen a Blwyddyn Newydd Dda. and I wish it to you now. x Cwtch

  2. I remember that post about the time thieves! I think it’s wonderful (though it must be awfully tiring) for you to get the amount of things done that you do in between trips to the doctor. I don’t know how it is over there, but a trip to the doctor’s office here is easily a half a day spent waiting. Still, there is something magical about this time of year. I think maybe it stems from our childhood, when it really was magical. When we believed in Santa Claus (for us; I think it’s Father Christmas for you, right?) and waited impatiently, wondering what goodies would be waiting for us under the tree Christmas morning. I hope your wife’s stocking is the largest that can be found. Wouldn’t that just tickle her? 🙂

  3. Kellie Harrington

    Well I got a lot of book read. all of your of course.. I became a beta reader for 4 great authors and have met many that are my aquaintces. and found a friend in you , Thank you! And I help take care of my grandson. that was my year in review.

  4. Aw. Thank you, Kellie! I’m glad to have met you as well and to have you as my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

