I’m a Goalie

Somehow I’ve found myself in the second month of a new year. I’m not sure how that happened. After all, it was just February 2012. Or for that matter, it feels like only yesterday I was tight-rolling my jeans, rocking the flannel shirts, and teasing my hair along with everyone else living in the ’90s. My point is, time really flies.

As you know, most people make resolutions for a new year, nearly all of which are abandoned by now. I’ve never made resolutions. I’ve always felt that if I want to make a change in my life, I just do it. No announcements. No need to wait until the start of the year. Whenever, wherever, I just do it.

I do enjoy setting goals for myself regarding my work. For example, in 2011 I told myself that I would write a book over the summer. It was going so well, I changed that goal to writing 2 books over the summer. Then I got cocky and decided if I could write 2, why not set the goal for 3 books. So I changed my goal (while still working on the first novel), and told myself I was going to write 3 books in 3 months. I wrote 2. Even though I didn’t meet my goal of 3, I surpassed my original goal of 1 and met my second goal of 2. And bonus, they’re my best 2 novels to date.

So here I am, in 2013, with a new set of goals. On the agenda is 4 books for this year. I plan to spend the first half of the year writing like a maniac. Then I’ll spend the last half of the year editing, polishing, and preparing them for publication. I would like them to be released sometime around October. If all goes well, it’ll happen. But if all goes according to my goal history, it’ll only happen for 3 of them. But hey, I’ll take it.

I’m often told I put too much pressure on myself. I expect too much. That may be true. But even when I don’t meet the goals I set for myself, I’m okay with it. I never feel like I let myself down. If I set my goal for 4 books and only write 3, I’m still very happy with what I accomplished. But I do feel that in order to see what I’m capable of, I need to set the bar just a little too high. If I manage to meet my goal of 4 books this year, next year I’ll set the goal for 5. I know what you’re thinking, but I’m not insane. (Ask any of the other people living in my head and they’ll tell you how sane I am.) I know that most authors turn out 1 book a year (some not even that). But I will continue to push myself harder, doing my very best to be as productive as possible in as little time as possible (without becoming one of those assembly line authors who basically write the exact same story over and over again, just slapping a new title on it and calling it a new book). That’s what makes us better. Pushing ourselves. Setting goals and doing our very best to reach them. I can’t help it. I’m a goalie.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yay! Can’t wait to read them all when you’re done! Why are you reading this? Get to writing!

  2. Kellie Harrington

    lol Hope. I also can’t wait Im thinking that you set a good goal. I really think you must be insane to be able to think up so much fiction to write a horror book . lol

  3. Lol! You ladies are great. 🙂

Leave a Reply

