Writers: Stop Losing Your Work!

I see a lot of frantic posts from writers who have lost their work due to computer crashes. Every writer knows the feeling of seeing so much hard work disappear in the blink of an eye. It’s a gut wrenching experience, guaranteed to bring us to our knees. And quite possibly there will be vomiting.  There will absolutely be crying. Most writers have back-up files of their work to prevent this from happening. After all, we don’t want to throw a hissy fit. Don’t get me wrong – we will if we lose our work, but we don’t want to. In case you don’t have a method of saving your work from disappearing into the bowels of the netherworld, let me share with you my personal back-up regimen.

First of all, a super fast and easy way to back up your files is a flash drive. Small and compact, just plug it in to your USB port, drag and drop, or copy and paste if that’s your preferred method, and voila! Saved to an outside source in case of a system meltdown.

Don’t have a flash drive? No problem. Head on over to yahoo or hotmail and set yourself up a free email account. At the end of each writing session, email yourself a copy of the file. Boom! Done and done. You now have a copy of your work stored safely in another location in case of a malfunction.

Don’t care to do that? Get Dropbox. It’s free. It’s my personal favorite because accessing your files from ANY device anywhere is awesome. Drop a copy of your file in the Dropbox. Automatically, you can see your files on your tablet, your smart phone, or any other computer. It’s fantastic.

Personally, I use all three of these methods. In fact, I have my work saved on three separate flash drives, I email myself my files at the end of each session, and I use Dropbox. Overkill? Maybe. But you’ve never seen a post from me where I’m crying because I’ve lost my work.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on May 4, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

