Pro-Google Rant

You would think with the advance of technology that people would be smarter than ever before. It seems the exact opposite is true. And that makes me sad. What does it say about us as a people that we have all the knowledge of the world at our fingertips–literally–and yet we know less than our grandparents did at our age with virtually no technology whatsoever? I mean come on. Google is right there. Use it!

I’m not ashamed at all to admit that I use Google a lot. Can’t remember the name of a movie? Google it. Can’t remember who sings that song? Google it. Not sure what a word means? Google it. Need to know how to open a coffin? Google it. Need to know where to buy Chloroform? Google it. Need to know how fast lye dissolves a body? Try it. Um, I mean Google it.

They say that we’re dumber because of Google. That instead of remembering the things we learn, we forget them because we can always just Google it again, so there’s no reason to memorize it and actually know it. I can see that. But for the few hours or days after you Google something, you’ve learned it and you know it. For me, once I Google something, I pretty much remember it. The act of typing it in and looking it up sears it onto my think meat and I just remember it. Settle down. I’m no savant. But I do believe that if I can do it, you can do it too.

So what do you say? How about we use the Google and actually learn some stuff? Like the difference between ideal and idea. How to make the best chocolate chip cookies. Why x really equals y. When to plant those tomatoes. How to spell tomatoes. Ways to cook tomatoes. Why some people are obsessed with tomatoes. There’s a whole world of knowledge over there in that little bar. Let’s use it. Let’s learn.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on February 2, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Most people go to google.com and do their search but there is a better way and that’s using google’s advanced search. http://www.google.com/advanced_search
    The only problem is google records all searches and stores that information for retrival by the government.
    There are better search platforms that incorporate google search and prevents google from identifying you. That is http://startpage.com. If you do your searches from there it’s not recorded.
    Want an old classic to put on your e-reader? Go to http://www.gutenberg.org/ and look. They have tons of old classics and provide just about any format needed.

  2. And then there’s Google Scholar…..

Leave a Reply

