Crazy Words

I was mulling over some words the other night and it occurred to me (for the bazillionth time) just how ridiculous our language is. Don’t get me wrong — I love words. I use them all the time. But just think about how strange they are, how random and uncoordinated and confusing they are. Here are some examples that just blow my mind and make me feel terribly sorry for anyone trying to learn our language:

Mood

Brood

Food

Good

Hood

Funny how we go from making the long O sound to the short O sound, even though they’re the same words with a different beginning consonant.

Here are some more:

Should

Shoulder

Why does the word change so completely when adding an -er to the end? All of a sudden we’re enunciating the L and making the short O sound into a long O sound. Bizarre.

Far

Car

Jar

War

Really? The AR suddenly sounds like OR. Why do we do this to ourselves?

Paid

Laid

Maid

Raid

Said

What?! Why?

Rut

But

Nut

Put

*shakes head*

Doll

Loll

Roll

See? Crazy.

Jowl

Cowl

Bowl

MmHm. I could go on. There are SO many more words like this. So many in fact, I don’t know how any of us ever learn this crazy language of ours. I’ve only touched the tip of the iceberg here, so I’m curious to know which ones drive you crazy.

 

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on June 16, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

