Sunday

When I was a kid, I hated Sundays. Saturdays were great because there were cartoons in the morning, usually followed by a full day of one activity or another. But Sundays were always horrible days. It seemed everyone stayed home to recoup that day, which meant I had no other kids to play with and nowhere to go. And what was on TV was the farthest thing from appealing. We only had one television and 13 channels. My step-dad spent the day watching pretty much the only thing that was on Sundays — black and white shows (which I loathed at the time) like The Three Stooges, Andy Griffith, and of course westerns and Kung Fu movies. I hated them the worst.

When I was older, I spent my Sundays relaxing after working all week. While the laundry washed and dried, I stretched out on the couch and watched movies. It was nice to have a day off, really off. A day to leave out my contact lenses and just lounge around with no bra and no pants (the ladies know what I mean). When I wasn’t working Saturdays, I used that day to do my running around, taking the husband and the son out for shopping and eating and having fun. So a day of rest was necessary.

Now that I’m the ripe old age of 36, Sundays have taken on a slightly different meaning. Since I work from home now, I don’t have to catch up on laundry and cleaning on Sunday. I keep up with it throughout the week. But I do still see it as a day of rest, a day to come down from the previous week and psych myself up for the upcoming week. Better still are Sundays during the winter, when football season is in full swing. The husband watches the game while I take a nap, read a book, work, clean, or just stretch out and watch football with him. Days like today. The game is on. I’m going to do some editing and then watch a few episodes of Doctor Who with my son. Quality time well spent on a lazy Sunday afternoon.

So how do you spend your Sundays?

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on October 12, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I usually spend it trying to relax and watching sports (usually football or auto racing). I’m a huge fan of The Walking Dead, so Sundays are big for me. Sunday is definitely my day of vegetation.

  2. I’m a big Walking Dead fan too. Wasn’t last night’s episode awesome?!

Leave a Reply

