Those Poor Celebrities

I don’t know how I get sucked into these things. My unending curiosity, I suppose. But I just spent several nonrefundable minutes of my life looking through before and after photos of celebrities who’ve ruined their face with plastic surgery. There’s just something about it that gets to me. So if you don’t mind, I’m gonna rant about it for a minute.

When I was a kid, I really wanted to be an actress. However, now that I’m grown and see how the world really is, I’m glad I never pursued that dream.

I’m a writer. I sit at my keyboard and pound on the keys in the privacy of my own home. No one sees me. I don’t wear make-up, I don’t fix my hair, and I don’t have to look glamorous. Most of the time I’m not even wearing pants, if you want to know the truth. Like now. No pants. I also pretty much live in t-shirts and sweatpants. Ask anyone who knows me and they’ll tell you it’s true. Sure, I have jeans and dress clothes, but I’m much more comfortable being, well, comfortable. I hate wearing make-up. I hate fixing my hair. I hate dressing up. And in my line of work, I don’t have to do any of those things. I can be whatever I want to be and look any way I want to look.

Actors don’t have that luxury. If they dare to go out without all the glitz and glamor that fans expect from their celebrities, then photos of the star are spread throughout the media, garnering laughs and jokes because how dare they go out like that? How dare they venture out into the world as they really are? When you’re an actor, your entire career is based on your looks. It should be based on your ability to act, but let’s be honest, it’s not. It’s based on looks. And once those looks fade, bye-bye career. Bye-bye A list. It’s over.

So the celebrities do what they feel is necessary to boost their career. They get cosmetic surgery. They desperately try to hold on to that glory, to stay on top of the world as the #1 actor or actress. And they’ll do whatever it takes to stay there. They’ll starve themselves. They’ll suck fat out of their asses and shoot it into their lips. They’ll slice off pieces of their face and sew it up to smooth out a few wrinkles. They’ll rearrange the cartilage in their nose. They’ll sew bags of saline into their breasts. They’ll do whatever it takes to stay on top. And that’s absolutely horrible.

See, for them, for the celebrities, it’s a no-win situation. If they grow old gracefully, they’ll be ridiculed for letting themselves go, for not getting a little touch-up here and there. And if they do go under the knife, they’re ridiculed for getting the surgery, especially when it’s botched or they go overboard and get one or two too many surgeries. I hate to name names here, but let’s look at what happened to Jennifer Grey. All she had was a nose job and it basically ended her career. Before she had the surgery, people said she was beautiful ‘but her nose is ugly, she should do something about it’. Do you see? Do you see how unfair it is? Have some celebrities gone absolutely over the top with their surgeries? Definitely. But I see why they did it. And that’s why I’m glad I chose not to purse my acting dream.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on January 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The Bride of Wildensten or Jackie Stallone should be warning enough about going too often under the knife.Growing old gracefully just adds character to a part.
    xx Huge Hugs xxx

  2. I never understood the reasoning behind actresses always trying to look young but as they age the get parts of older women and have to apply makeup to make them look older. Actors will do this too but not quite as much. Lucky for us readers you decided to be a writer.

Leave a Reply

