Authors Reviewing Authors

A couple of years back, the news broke that certain authors had created fake or “sock puppet” accounts in order to a) leave fake good reviews for themselves and b) leave fake bad reviews for other authors. Deplorable, right? Shady, right? Juvenile, right? Yes, yes, and yes. I have never and will never do any such thing.

Since then, I have been in a bit of a quandary. I’d like your thoughts and opinions on the matter, so here goes.

What do you think about writers leaving reviews for other authors’ books? For example, when I read a book, I would love to leave a review. But then I remember all the hubbub over those fools who faked a bunch of reviews and I think no. I shouldn’t do that. Why not? Because people might think I did the author a favor or something by leaving a review, probably for a book I didn’t read (which I would NEVER do).

What I want to know is what you, the reader, think when you see that an author has left a review on a book. Do you think it’s honest and fair? Or do you think it’s some sneaky lie? Do you think authors should even leave reviews for books?

As a writer, I know just how important reviews are. If we were carpenters, reviews are our nails. If we were surgeons, reviews are our scalpels. If we were photographers, reviews are our cameras. Reviews are absolutely essential to what we do. Readers use them to judge whether or not the book is worth their time and money. Sometimes, when a reader is on the fence about investing so much of themselves into our work, those reviews are the deciding factor. Knowing this, it kills me to not leave reviews for fear of readers thinking it’s a fake, a lie.

It’s time to weigh in. Tell me what you think. And thank you in advance for your opinions. 🙂

 

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on April 30, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. As an author who struggles to get any reviews, let alone good ones, I am frequently baffled by authors whose recently published and badly written books seem to accumulate 4- and 5-star reviews… I like to leave reviews, and used to do it often, trying to be as fair as possible, yet honest. One review that I received, on the other hand, is so vitriolic that it feels quite personal (and actually I have some evidence that it is by an author that I gave a poor review for on my blog), and although you hope readers are wise enough to see through such games, I think Amazon ratings and reviews do hugely influence buyers. I’ve certainly seen it said often that authors shouldn’t leave reviews at all, and certainly not bad ones…

Leave a Reply

