Humble Pride

Well I did it. Exactly what I used to want to do, then decided it was best not to do. Yeah, I did that. I published my books in paperback form.

When I first published my books (way back last summer), I thought it was brilliant. There was no reason to be in paperback. After all, there are so many perks to the digital format that surely no one would want a paperback. I believe digital is the better way to go because not only do digital books save trees and space in your home, you can fit literally hundreds of books in an object smaller than one paperback. But a lot of people still want to hold that actual book in their hands. So after being asked, begged, and nearly bribed to put my books out in paperback, I caved. I did it. And strangely enough, now that I did, I’m super excited. I have a stack of books on my coffee table right now that bear my name. I look over at them periodically and smile.

There’s no greater feeling than that you get when seeing your name in print. It’s a high, that’s for sure. And for me, it’s an even bigger high because so much of me is in it. I wrote, edited, and formatted the books, and I made the covers. I’m a one man book making operation. (Except that I’m a woman.)

I’m not a braggart. I don’t gloat about my achievements. I recognize when I do a good job, but then I move on because all jobs are supposed to be good and I don’t feel that bragging is a good quality. But when I look at these books, I have to say humbly that I’m proud of me.

About Kimberly A Bettes

I whittle away the minutes of my life by entertaining myself with various projects and people. One thing is certain. I'm never bored. I also write stuff and take pictures of things.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. And every reason to be proud of yourself too. Just think, a whole new market too, with the possibility ( if you choose to) of book signings and interviews etc. The downside is watching Amazon to see how your ratings are doing so better get promoting yourself all over again. Oh, and very good luck !
    Hugs

  2. Thank you! I’m very much looking forward to book signings. I’ve been dreaming of it since I was a teenager. Very excited! 🙂

Leave a comment